PDA

View Full Version : ZWNews, malware?


joemac
07-25-2008, 10:53 PM
Got this funny page when I logged on to ZWNews today

Advisory provided byhttp://safebrowsing.clients.google.com/images/malware_logo.gifSafe Browsing

Diagnostic page for www.zwnews.com/

What is the current listing status for www.zwnews.com/?
Site is listed as suspicious - visiting this web site may harm your computer.
Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 1 time(s) over the past 90 days.
What happened when Google visited this site?
Of the 25 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 15 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 07/25/2008, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 07/25/2008.
Malicious software includes 15 scripting exploit(s). Successful infection resulted in an average of 0 new processes on the target machine.
Malicious software is hosted on 1 domain(s), including verynx.cn (http://safebrowsing.clients.google.com/safebrowsing/diagnostic?client=Firefox&hl=en-US&site=verynx.cn).
Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?
Over the past 90 days, www.zwnews.com/ did not appear to function as an intermediary for the infection of any sites.Has this site hosted malware?
No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.
How did this happen?
In some cases, third parties can add malicious code to legitimate sites, which would cause us to show the warning message.
Next steps:


Return to the previous page (http://safebrowsing.clients.google.com/safebrowsing/diagnostic?client=Firefox&hl=en-US&site=http://www.zwnews.com/issuefull.cfm?ArticleID=19190#).
If you are the owner of this web site, you can request a review of your site using Google Webmaster Tools (http://www.google.com/webmasters/tools/). More information about the review process is available in Google's Webmaster Help Center (http://www.google.com/support/webmasters/bin/answer.py?answer=45432).

boards
07-25-2008, 10:58 PM
oh f***k - i get it sent through as an email and never had a problem.. but it wouldnt surprise me!??

Armstrong-Abbott
07-26-2008, 12:12 AM
What does all that mean exactly Joemac? In layman's terms ?
ps. are you tcb newsbot?

joemac
07-26-2008, 06:50 AM
The google Spider has found some malicious software on this site and is advising that your computer could be infected by viewing this site.

I am ignoring it but I can't advise others too.

I am not the newsbot, the newsbot is a bot. i.e. automated. The newsbot is not working at the mo, but it is being worked on. Will take a little while.

FerrariSucks
07-26-2008, 07:51 PM
I think I will just give that site a miss!!!

Armstrong-Abbott
07-26-2008, 08:09 PM
The google Spider has found some malicious software on this site and is advising that your computer could be infected by viewing this site.

I am ignoring it but I can't advise others too.

I am not the newsbot, the newsbot is a bot. i.e. automated. The newsbot is not working at the mo, but it is being worked on. Will take a little while.

Thanks for that Joemac, but, one more question. What is a google Spider?:smiley9:

joemac
07-27-2008, 05:52 AM
A google spider is a a program that trawls through the interweb, looking at web sites, so that when you type something for google to search, it remembers where it saw the words matching your search and offers that up.

If you check the "who's online" near the top of this page you will that there are heaps of spiders on this site.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Web_crawler

ZimJim
08-12-2008, 05:43 PM
I noticed this warning on a few sites recently when I search for Zimbabwe News. It seem to have disapeared now though....

Steve
08-12-2008, 06:49 PM
Run Spybot and Adaware, they find most malware. There is a more complex one, but run it only under the supervision of a fundi. It is: MWavScan and HJT...

http://www.mwti.net/products/mwav.asp...